Skip to content

Thursday, 13 Ways to Make Life More Manageable

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

There are some individuals who seem to carry all of their eggs around in a padded hand basket, I am not one of them.  In fact my head could probably fall off of my shoulders at any minute if someone doesn’t pass the super glue.  But in an effort to keep my eggs from cracking and my head from wobbling I try to implement things into my life to make it a little more manageable.

  1. Check Your Attitude at the Door. Doesn’t matter which door, the front door, the bathroom door…just do it.  For whatever reason your attitude or mood can effect the masses, especially the people that you are closest too.  For example if my husband had a bad day at work and he brings it in the house with him it tends to set the scene for the rest of the night and our interactions with each other.  If I wake up on the wrong side of the bed, the tone I take with the people I come in contact with can effect the tone that they will take with the people they come in contact with.  So if you check your attitude at the door, you’re not spreading your hate around.
  2. “Why put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” I couldn’t have said this any better if I were Thomas Jefferson himself.  Have you ever noticed it takes more effort to talk yourself out of, and convince yourself why not too do a chore or task now then later?  In the amount of time I can sit and complain to my friends about how I should be doing this or that but I just don’t feel like it, can someone please give me a nudge, it could have been done.  In that amount of time I could have swished the toilet or wiped the counter.
  3. Make Lists. This isn’t for everyone, but it is for me.  I enjoy making list, but list totally help keep me on task.  I don’t just write clean the bathroom, I break it down into individual jobs, this helps me see what I have accomplished and what I have not.  If I need to run errands I write down where I need to go in the order in which I need to go, so I don’t have those oh sh*t I forgot moments.
  4. Make things more accessible. It doesn’t seem to matter what nifty gadget I own or what infomercial appliance I own if it isn’t somewhere accessible for me to use.  If I have to dig something out of a box or move 3 small appliances to get to the 4th one in the back it becomes more of a hazard then a help.  It comes to my attention that maybe I don’t need certain things because I won’t take the time to dig them out to use them.
  5. Keep a pen and paper close at hand. I find thoughts, tasks and curiosities are much easier to take hold of or keep at bay if I have a pen and paper close by.  I like to keep a note pad near my bed so when something comes across my mind I can write it down to deal with in the morning.  If I just try to store the thoughts in my mind until I wake up I’ll lay there and try to mentally deal with it.  If I’m in the car and I finally hear the name of the person who sings that song I adore I can write it down at the next stop light.  And of course pen and paper comes in handy when I’m trying to organize a blog post.  It seems I can think of a million and one ideas when I’m away from my computer, but the minute I sit down in front of it, half of those ideas are lost.
  6. Organize and Simplify. I think getting rid of stuff and keeping the stuff you do have organized may be easier said then done, but freeing when it is.  Sometimes it’s not even having stuff put in it’s place that is freeing for me, it is knowing that when I do decide to tackle it I have a place for it.  If you own stuff that you hold onto because you swear it is sentimental, but it’s been in a box for the last 5 years un-enjoyed consider taking a picture and getting rid of the actual object.  They say a picture is worth a 1000 words.
  7. Keep pain reliever close at hand. There is nothing worse then having to search around for a couple of Tylenol when you feel like your head is going to burst.
  8. Put your green bags in the car after you’re done using them. I find it so frustrating to get to the store and realize you bought those handy dandy bags for nothing.
  9. Choose multipurpose items. I prefer items that accomplish more then one thing be it appliances or programs.  When it comes to organizing may day to day life be it appointments, phone numbers, to do list I find it easiest when I can have all of those things organized in one place rather then various places.  For me that often times translates to my Blackberry.  I can keep my contacts, reminders, to do lists, emails, and important dates all in one handy dandy place rather then having to reference several items.  I still tend to keep an old fashion calendar as a back up, but I like knowing I can grab my phone on the way out the door and can access just about anything I may need.  If you’re just not into technology or can’t afford it consider trying something like a control journal.
  10. Put your savings AWAY. Have you ever noticed that if you’ve saved a little bit of money and it’s easy to access you’re a lot more likely to use it.  I like to keep savings somewhere that I have to put a little more effort into getting it.  Whether you put it in an inconvenient bank across town or buy a savings bond you’ll tend to keep that savings a little longer if have to go through a little more trouble to get it.
  11. Try new things or revisit old things. I think life needs a little spice every now and then.  If you don’t have a few smiles or some enjoyment all of the other things seems to roll into each other and it becomes boring and predictable.  Trying something new can be scary and exciting.  Revisiting old things that you enjoy but haven’t done in awhile is uplifting.
  12. Don’t keep up with the Jones’. Have you ever noticed how stressful life can become if you’re trying to acquire the things everyone else has or do the things everyone else does?  Getting caught up in those practices can certainly cause more heartache then smiles.
  13. Think it over. If you have the time take a few minutes or take a couple of days and think things over.  Don’t be hasty or in a rush to respond or make a choice unless it is necessary.  If I’m angry or disappointed with something I find my reaction is much better when I take a little time to cool down and think it over.  If I respond in the heat of the moment my response usually reflects the adrenaline I was feeling in that moment.  If you’re out shopping and you see that new expensive this or that go home and think about it or go grab a bite to eat and come back.  I find that impulse buys are a lot less enjoyable a day or so after you get them home.  If you take a little bit of time to think about the purchase you can weigh the pros and cons of the purchase.  Unless of course it is Black Friday.

I hope some of these were helpful to you and I hope you have or are having a great Thursday!


More Thursday 13 RIGHT HERE as always.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, November 5, 2009 12:10 am

    Making lists and taking notes make my life so much easier!

    Great list….Happy TT!

  2. Thursday, November 5, 2009 12:45 am

    You are AWESOME!!

  3. Thursday, November 5, 2009 1:11 am

    The pen and paper works real well with the list making, which I have found useful in ridiculous proportions. (Yes, at one point I did keep track of who was washing the dishes when.)

  4. Thursday, November 5, 2009 2:01 am

    you ve touched my life today.
    in more than just one way!

  5. Thursday, November 5, 2009 9:22 am

    I like number 1 about checking your attitude. Happy TT!

  6. Thursday, November 5, 2009 9:49 am

    excellent thoughts – many of which i agree with! i’m bookmarking this post!

    happy tt!

  7. Thursday, November 5, 2009 10:54 am

    Amen.
    Wonderful list.

    Have a great day!
    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/11/how-many-questions-are-too-many.html

  8. Thursday, November 5, 2009 3:07 pm

    Great post. Need to institute some of those ideas. I need to get back on track after (and still am) being sick. You?

Leave a Reply

