Skip to content

Happy Yom Kippur

Monday, September 28, 2009

I’m not Jewish, nor do I celebrate Yom Kippur.  The little bug has off of school today and I wanted to know if it were a specific holiday and my calendar shows Yom Kippur, so I doubt we are off for that reason but it still peaked my interest.

But from a little googling I now know Yom Kippur means Day of Atonement.  It is a day set aside to “afflict the soul,” to atone for the sins of the past year.  More info here or here.

This actually sounds like a pretty good day to observe.

Anywho moving on.  Monday’s are typically not my favorite.  9 times out of 10 my husband leaves for his next trip on a Monday, in fact he just called and said his plane had landed.  On the weekends I don’t do much cleaning, I stick to washing the laundry he will need for his next trip.  So Monday’s are time to reflect on what I need to do around here.

Today I plan to spend time with my little bug.  Eat Banana Nut muffins that will very likely (okay it just did) go down the wrong pipe and cause me to sit around and cough.  Take out that bag of garbage that should have went out yesterday.  And do the dishes, by hand, ya know, because I don’t have a dishwasher!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

