Skip to content

Thursday-13, College

Thursday, September 24, 2009
  1. Once upon a time I decided to go to a business school.  I was young, I was unfocused and life was throwing many, many curve balls.  That year my grandma had a heart attack.  (She takes meds, but she is okay now.)  A lady didn’t see us and came out from a side road and totaled our car.  Our house burn’t down.  Facing autism with our daughter was becoming very obvious.
  2. Fast forward 5 years later, I’ve been a stay at home mom, but my daughter is out of the house for several hours with school during the day and my husband travels quite frequently.  To be honest I’m getting a little bored and I have decided that college is for me.
  3. I want to go to college for me.
  4. I want to go to college to contribute to my family.
  5. I’m concerned about the financial aid portion of college.
  6. Estimated Family Contribution worries me.
  7. I want to start with a Bachelors degree in Business Management/Administration and at some point focus on Project Management.
  8. If I can survive the Bachelors degree without hating school I’d like to just go on to get my Masters, because I’m afraid if I quit long enough to get a job, I won’t go back.
  9. I fully intend to go to an online college, I think it is the best fit for me and for my family.
  10. There is a lot of research to do as far as picking the right college for you, I’m still not 100% sure which one is the right one for me.
  11. If you request information online about a school 9/10 of them will call you, several times desperately during the day to try and sell you their school.
  12. When you tell one of the schools that you requested information from that you are not interested, they will continue to call.
  13. Love and support really is a blessing when you’re considering and traveling this portion of your life.

To get your Thursday-13 on or read other Thursday-13’s head on over to Thursday-13!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, September 24, 2009 12:26 am

    I had many of the same worries during my college years, but I wouldn’t trade them for the world. I’ve been out for almost 20 yrs and now thinking about going back to get my masters. I’m looking at doing it online – cheaper and easier because of family responsiblities.

  2. Thursday, September 24, 2009 12:53 pm

    It’s a big step, but you’re going about it the right way. I wish I’d gotten my accounting degree years earlier.

  3. Thursday, September 24, 2009 12:57 pm

    I want to go back to college, I will probably start with a liberal arts program, I’m 40 and still finding myself. Good luck!

  4. Thursday, September 24, 2009 2:45 pm

    What a great goal to set for yourself. School is always appreciated more when you are the one paying for it and it is something you have chosen to attend. I took much of my college experience for granted.

Leave a Reply

