Skip to content

Bangin’ Baked Beans

Monday, September 21, 2009

The other day LaDonna posted THIS recipe for Baked Bean Casserole, just reading it had my mouth-watering.  I’ve never made baked beans that weren’t from a can before and I just so happened to need a covered-dish for a family reunion I went to yesterday so I talked to LD about it for a little bit and decided to go forth.

Am I ever so glad I did, these baked beans were amazing!  The only other food I’ve ever gotten so many compliments on was my fruit salad.  People kept asking who made them and for the recipe.  They were so good I was disappointed there weren’t any to take back home with me.

So technically the recipe is called Baked Bean Casserole, but I officially rename it Bangin’ Baked Beans and I encourage you to make it.  Here is the recipe as it comes from LaDonna:

1/2 lb bacon, diced
1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1/2 cup celery, chopped
1/4 cup ketchup
1/4 cup bbq sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp dry mustard
1 – 14 oz can tomato sauce
2 – 14 oz can pork and beans
1 – 14 oz kidney beans

Cook together bacon, beef and onion. Drain fat. Meanwhile, combine remaining ingredients. Add to meat mixture. Stir. Place in casserole dish. Bake uncovered for 45 minutes at 350. Serves 4-6.

This recipe is great in the crockpot; just combine everything together and cook all day.

I changed it up just a little bit…

Instead of using kidney beans I added an extra can of pork and beans.  I added about an 1/8th cup of extra brown sugar.  I used ‘ground mustard’ because it was dry.  I don’t know if this is actually what ‘dry’ mustard is, but it worked well.  Lastly there are so many different BBQ sauces out there that have different flavors so I personally went with Cattlemen’s.  Oh, I almost forgot.  I went with the Crock pot method, I put it in a little late but 2-1/2 hours on high worked out just fine.

So special thanks to LD for bringing this recipe to my attention, it is sure have a place in my archives for a long time to come and I already have plans to make it for the next family gathering…what can I say, I love compliments!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

