Skip to content

My House

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

I live in a small house.  3 bedrooms, 1 bath, eat in kitchen, living room, covered deck and garage.  Aside from the beautiful view I appreciate that our house is a shelter in the time of storm, it’s a gathering place and that I feel safe here.

Our house itself is a bit odd.  It was built section by section, I assume to accomdate the owner at the times budget but not very well thought out.  There have been a few upgrades made along the way but different owners, but still a lot that could be done, a lot that needs to be done.

Ultimately I think my husband and I agree that we would just like to build a new house that meets our needs and wants but at what point in our lives that will happen no one seems to know.  I would say at the very minimum it could be 2 years, but it could also be 15…I know how we roll, HA!

In the mean time I find we are divided on the state of our current home.  Last year we had a decent amount of money and decided to look at some houses, but decided that for our budget the best thing we could do would be to stay where we were and I convinced my husband to let me remodel the kitchen.  Within 3 weeks everything but the layout in the kitchen was new and I’m still delighted, despite the fact the trim still needs finished.  Fast forward to present day and I don’t know how I convinced my husband to let me re-do the kitchen.  The man doesn’t want to put another cent into this house.  I respect that, because it does seem kinda silly to put money into a house you would eventually like to tear down, but I don’t want to live in hodge podge while we are waiting for the day when we break ground or just decide to buy an already built house.

So I find myself wondering how I can reach a compromise with my husband.  I’ve primarily not had a job in the last 7 years and now that the little bug is in school full-time I find myself getting a little bored.  So, I think I have decided to take matters into my own hands.  Assuming I can get the financial portion of things under control I think I’m going to go back to school.  I think it will definitely help pull me out of boredom and I think at completion having a fair income will help scoot our future along as far as a new place to live is concerned.  And if I can’t convince my husband to make this house a little more contoured to my personal taste then I’m going to speed up the process I’ve moving up and out.

Whatcha think?!  My next dilemma, deciding what in the world I want to go to college for!  I’ve considered several things in the medical field, but think I’ve ruled the majority of it out.  At one time in my life I wanted to be a school teacher and now a part of me would really like to pursue special education, but I’m not 100% sure that is the path I want to go.  I’ve also considered just taking a 2 year associate degree course in business management.  I know that I definitely want a job that will fit in with the economy be it thriving or resessing.  I’ve also been out of the work force for so long I have to admit I’m not sure what all careers are out there or the courses you have to take to achieve them.  I’d love suggestions.  🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

