Skip to content

My Favorite Holiday

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

There is officially 100 days until my favorite holiday…

Christmas and my Birthday!

I can’t say that I’m over the moon about getting another year older, but it’s inevitable so I’ll go forward with a smile on my face and enjoy this wonderful time of the year.

There is so much to look forward to in the last 100 days til my Birthday Christmas.  We get to celebrate Halloween, Thanksgiving and well obviously Christmas.  I live in one of those states that celebrates all 4 seasons and I think the colder months just really set the scene for the season…at least where I am concerned.  I’m not extremely into Halloween, except for where it comes to seeing the smile on my husband and little bugs face as they trick-or-treat.  Yes, my husband loves the candy just as much as the little bug does.  But I am into Thanksgiving and Christmas, there is something so cozy about these holidays.  The decor is so comfortable and inviting, most peoples demeanor is warm and caring.  You get to share these days with family you may not see otherwise.  The food, oh the food!  I’m not sure why, but things like turkey and stuffing just are not foods we make in our house, despite the fact my husband makes some bangin’ stuffing…so it’s a great time of year to enjoy these special foods.  I don’t like cranberry sauce so no props there.
Along with these holidays comes preparation be it with decor, or food or picking out and wrapping gifts.  For autumn/thanksgiving I mostly stick to outdoor decorating.  Many of the local farms sell mums and pumpkin, both very fun for decorating.  The other day I picked up some cinnamon scented pine cones to put in a basket on my kitchen table…they smell amazing!  This October is a little more special then usual, one of my second cousins is getting married.  Her wedding is very much autumn themed and I think it will make for such a warm, happy atmosphere.  When it comes to Christmas I primarily focus on indoor decorations, although last year I did wrap white lights around the railing on our deck.

Personally I go with an artificial tree, it’s just the most suitable option for my family.  I always go with white lights, I like colored lights on other peoples trees, but for my own taste I find something very classy about white lights.  I have an assortment of Christmas decorations, but you will never catch me using primary colored ornaments, I know some people who can pull them off beautifully, I’m just not one of them.  I guess I’m particular like that.  I think my biggest peeve comes with wrapping gifts.  I think that all gifts should come in perfectly square or rectangular boxes.  Gifts that don’t come in any sort of box at all just make me want to pull my hair out!  I like adding all of the extra touches like ribbon and special tags.  Last year I found this paper that was like a red gingham paper bag and I tied them with twine…I think they were my favorite ever.  Even if I use more then one style paper, I want all the paper to coordinate.  It drives my buggy if it doesn’t.

I have to admit the smartest way to afford the holidays is with a little financial planning.  I’ve considered joining a Christmas Savings program, but I like to put things off and so I never have.  I like to try and buy gifts ahead of time, if I can find something that is just right, but truth me told Christmas shopping usually comes down to the wire.  Even if I think I have everything covered I’ll be buying gifts right down to the last minute.

I don’t remember the last time we actually did Christmas on Christmas, we always celebrate the day before.  My extended family takes turns hosting each year and we get together on Christmas Eve and come home to open gifts so we can get a good nights sleep.  I’m not one for surprises and anticipation will keep me up all night.  It’s still a lot of fun and usually everyone has a smile on their face.

This wasn’t exactly where I had intended this post to go, but it did.  Tell me a little about what you do or don’t do or your decorating style for the holidays?


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tuesday, September 15, 2009 1:33 am

    Your blog looks wonderful. It was nice going through your blog. Keep it up the good work. CHeers 🙂

  2. Wednesday, September 16, 2009 2:17 pm

    lovely Christmas blog you have ,
    check out my Christmas shopping mall for all kinds of photo cards ,cards ,stocking fillers and gifts
    http://wwww.zazzle.com/xmasmall

Leave a Reply

