Skip to content

The Grocery Store Adventure

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Have you ever had that moment where even though 4 days earlier you had went to the grocery store you felt like there was nothing in the house to eat?  Match that with a clutter tornado barfing in my kitchen over the weekend I decided to take the easy way out and go to the grocery store.

We got there and the little bug didn’t want to get in the cart.  That wouldn’t be so bad but the little bug and no cart usually doesn’t equal peaceful happy experience for mommy.  So finally she got in the cart and in the store we went.

Things were going pretty well at this point, we got a few things and then headed for the chinese counter.  I placed my order and headed for the deli counter.  There were 2 girls working just doing random jobs, no other customers waiting, just little old me.  I stood there trying to patiently wait, thinking maybe what they were doing was more important then what I could see, waiting for someone to say we’ll be with you in just a minute maam.  No such luck!  More then 5 minutes later I gave up and went back to the chinese counter.

Getting ready to pay for my chinese I got out my wallet and had an oh you’ve gotta be kidding me moment when I realized I had forgotten my bank card at home and that I didn’t replace my checks after the last book ran out.  I said I’ll be back in a few minutes and headed to the bank.  Thank heavens the bank I use is in the same parking lot as the grocery store.  The little bug was a little testy in the bank, but we survived and headed back to the grocery store.

We grabbed our cart and I let he little bug push.  We picked up the chinese and then checkout the rest of our items.  The little bug was actually so good and “bagged” the few groceries we had gotten.  We headed for the door but on the way we had to go past one of those self-serve lottery machines where the little bug had to stop and push the buttons.  I kept walking hoping she would follow but no such luck.  I went back and grabber her had and told her it was time to go.  She came along with resistance, not great but I could deal with that.  Then came the “hurry, help, help, let go, help hurry”.  I was thinking oh my goodness somebody has gotta be thinking that ladies taking that kid or that kid must hate her mommy.  But we made it to the car without incident.

The little bug got in the car and outta the car and in the car…still no big deal, that is why I don’t park near other cars.  Ya know, to avoid doors smashing into other doors.  I put most of the groceries in the car and then got to the 2-12 packs of soda I had bought only to find one box leaking like crazy.  How from the checkout to the car a can of soda could get punctured I will never know, but it did.  I debated on going back in the store, but after everything else I didn’t have the heart to go back in.  Decided to weed through the box, ditch the injured can and be on my merry way.

Was I ever glad to make it home!  Besides it making for a good blog post, I think I should have just stayed home.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wednesday, September 9, 2009 3:31 am

    oh my! that’s a terrible trip to the store. 😦

Leave a Reply

