Skip to content

Bath Towels

Monday, March 9, 2009

No, this isn’t about me buying a great new set of towels or a guide to buying the perfect towel, it’s about my peeves with bath towels.  First let me start with the fact I have a crazy desire for only white towels.  I love white towels, especially fluffy ones!

This next part is not meant to offend anyone.  Just because it’s my peeve, doesn’t mean I look unkindly on others for doing so…BUT I CANNOT USE THE SAME BATH TOWEL MORE THEN ONCE.  Oh how it bothers me…it’s the worst part of vacationing at families house.  You walk into the guest room and they declare there is a towel and wash cloth for each of you to use while you are there, hang it up when you are done to let it dry.

I think this madness all started with my curly hair.  I’m like a loveable puppy…I shed.  If I shed a strand of hair in a towel I don’t want to revisit it the next time I dry my body.  I don’t want to find old hair on my towel.  So, you may say why don’t you use one towel for just your hair and one for your body?  Dead skin cells of course.  It’s a part of life, we constently shed dead skin cells…I don’t want to re-apply them to my body after my next shower.  Anyone ever seen one of the TV shows where they talk about dust mites in the bed?   I’m pretty sure they couldn’t grow overnight in my towel…but it’s the thought.  And last but not least…I don’t care how clean my body is I don’t want to risk drying my face with the part of the towel that may have last dried my fanny.  NO THANKS.

I’m a little curious as to what other peoples habits are with their bath towel usage.  Seems most people I know use their towels several times and they look at me like I’m the nutty one.  Is it really so terrible to use a towel just one time?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday, March 9, 2009 2:56 pm

    We use our towels more than once. I feel we shouldn’t, for many of the reasons you mentioned, but the laundry! And the # of towels I would have to have. ugh!

  2. Monday, March 9, 2009 2:57 pm

    ok, now i wanna change our practice of re-use! thanks a lot, Amber!!!

Leave a Reply

