Skip to content

Paying the Bills and Saving Money

Friday, February 20, 2009

Hopefully this will be a quick post a few quick tips for getting ahead on the bills and saving money in tough times.

Even when you don’t have a lot of extra money to spare to get a little head-start on my next month bills I pay extra.  You don’t have to pay a full months payment to get ahead you can get ahead a little at a time.  Paying as little as a dollar more then your regular payment will slowly add up but will add up.

Example:  If your regular cell phone bill is $95.00 and you pay $96.00  next month your bill will only be $94.00.  So even though your bill is down to $94.00 you still pay $96.00 dollars.  Continue to pay the full amount even though your bill is dropping and slowly you will build up a little leadway in-case something were to happen.

Saving money can be one of the hardest things to accomplish, it’s so easy to over-spend even though you tell yourself you won’t.  As I mentioned before after paying bills I have been trying to live off of a specific amount of money and saving the rest.  To help me stick to my budget I find it easiest when I take easy access away from the money I want to save.  I transfer the money I want to save to an account that isn’t easily accessable when I am out in about…the harder it is to get the less likely I am to use it.

These are some plain, easy ideas but each little idea that we can implement into our lives adds up to big ideas.  Any questions just ask.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Friday, February 20, 2009 6:10 pm

    Great post! When we came into some money, we paid the next 2 months’ bills (the average) and then put the rest away. It was great. When the bills would come in and there was a credit it was great to see! Very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

