Skip to content

Contentment

Thursday, February 5, 2009

If you are here for Thankful Thursday please scroll down to the next post or feel free to read this one and then that one.

by Ian Britton

photo by: Ian Britton

While I think my life is mostly filled with blessings I’ve got to admit I’m not always content.  My lack of contentment I think usually spawns from worry or situations I have been unwilling been thrown into.  What really got me thinking about Contentment is a conversation I had with a lady yesterday…we will just call her lady so no one takes offense to this.  Her situation in life right now I must admit isn’t the most desireable but in the same token I think greatly self-inflicted.  The part that really just racked me was her comments about money.  A lot of what is going on in her life right now is in direct relation to past decisions that she has made that have basically caught up with her.  Before I get frustrated I am just going to get into the contentment part of it.

Contentment: is the neuro-physiological experience of satisfaction and being at ease in one’s situation.  Body and/or Mind.

Life is sort of like blackjack you get dealt a couple of cards and you can have more if you ask for them but of course you run the risk of busting.   You have to take the time to think about the cards if you are going to get the most out of them.  Life won’t always add up to a perfect 21, but it can come close and sometimes that can be just as good.

My mind is drawn to a family that was on Oprah the other day deemed The Thriftiest Family in America.  The Heinz family makes a net income of $58,000 a year—but they have $70,000 in savings.  The dad works and mom stays home with her 4 children.  If you read the story or if you watched it on TV I think you would have to agree they have kind of embraced contentment…they have made the most of the life they have been given.  Why can’t more of us be content in our current situations.  Being content doesn’t mean that you can’t reach out and try to have more and be more…but it doesn’t mean you have to be miserable with the life you have.  Face it, we only get one life here on earth, why wouldn’t we want to make the most of it?

Want to try and gain a little more CONTENTMENT in your life?  I’ve been googling this morning in search of great tips on how to achieve that and thinking to myself how would I personally experience contentment?  Below you will find a list that may help you get started.  In no particular order

  • Relieve Stress-I think that Stress can affect so much, starting with your emotions.  While most of us probably can’t get away from all of our stress, I think it’s safe to say there is a lot of stress we can get away from. It is a matter of taking a deeper look at your life and deciding that some things/people aren’t worth the stress and drama they bring.
  • Be Yourself-Stand up for who you are and what you believe in and if you are not who you want to be then take the time to set new habits and new goals to become who you want to be.
  • Embrace Your Life-Just because you don’t have the “fairytale” life or the life you always “dreamed” about it doesn’t mean that the life you have is bad or un-desirable.  It’s a matter of accepting and making the most of what you have and if you want more reaching out to grab it.
  • Religion or Spirituality-God is a good guy to have.  If he isn’t your guy I still venture to say adopt some sort of religion, believe in a higher power.  When the day is done and all feels like it has failed having that one last thing to believe in can make all the difference.
  • Pep talks and Pats on the Back-Why not give yourself a little ego boost.  Confidence can pave the way for just about anything…just don’t over do it.  🙂
  • Surrender to the Process-The girl who won the biggest loser this past season said that she found results when she surrendered to the process and that has totally just stuck with me.

I think that list will leave us all with a little to think about and consider right now.  Take the time to examine your life, how you look at it, how you treat it.  Maybe even bust out the old pen and paper and write your thoughts down.  Go through the above list and consider how or if those things fit in your life and in what way.  When you can break down various things that happen in your life it’s easier to think, YES, NO, GOOD, BAD.  Do you have good health?  Can you pay bills? (no, I’m not asking if you have extra money) Do you feel some form of happiness?  Whats positive what is negative?  Get the idea?   Lets all embrace a little more contentment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Thursday, February 5, 2009 3:47 pm

    Great post. Sparked something in me. I didn’t watch the program to see what their attitude was like, but . . . . I hope that they are content. They are stable financially in an unstable world. I am content in my world, with my situation and that’s your point!

  2. Thursday, February 5, 2009 4:03 pm

    Content – Satisfied.
    Philippians 4:11 – “Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am in.”

    Hebrews 13:5 – “Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.”

    Just a couple of verses that have come to mind while reading your post.

Trackbacks

  1. Super Frugal Thrifty Money Saver « Come Here Little Bug

Leave a Reply

