Skip to content

Being Optimistic

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

While I’m not an expert on being OPTIMISTIC, I love the characteristic.  Sometimes I look for the silver lining and sometimes I am too upset to remember to look for it, but it’s usually always there.  Below you will find a few of my ideas on adopting a little more OPTIMISM in your life.

  • Easiest of all…flash a smile.  I’m the type of person you can make smile even when I’m mad.  It is easy to come up with a smile when things are good or when something funny happens…but how bout when you are mad?  I’m not saying to have to move on right away, but everyone including yourself doesn’t have to pay the price for what has made you mad.
  • Don’t spread your anger.  I do believe that if something is upsetting you it’s important to get it out in the open, to talk about it and work through it.  I do not on the other hand think that everyone has to understand the magnitude of how angry you are in your actions and in your tone.  Someone who is angry or mad about something can take a person who is having a perfectly great day down right along with them.
  • Boredom-Whats this have to do with being optimistic.  The other day someone said to me I’m bored and I replied with that isn’t such a bad thing.  If you’re bored it usually means things are pretty quiet, nothing is going on and if nothing is going on at least nothing bad or disappointing is happening.  Boredom also gives you a clean slate for something new.  Whether it be a new project or a new activity you can turn boredom into something good, so abuse it!
  • Count your blessings-Looking at things in everyday life as a blessing can be the hardest of all.  The other week I mentioned that often times I like to complain about paying the bills but if I really stopped to consider it all, paying bills was a blessing.  Many, many people are struggling right now and while some weeks may be better then others we are not struggling and that in and of itself is a blessing.  Food is a blessing.  It’s easy to say we don’t have anything to eat, when you have a cabinet full of food…some people don’t have any.  It’s easy to complain about the quantity of food set out to eat, but a lot of times there is plenty we are just on an over eating kick.  My point is when you are complaining about something like food, bills, the laundry, take a step back and decide if it really warrants the complaint and then look for the blessing.
  • Journals-I think that getting out the things that are bothering you or that don’t seem quite right can help you sort out your feelings.  I think that committing to writing down the good things in your life once a day can make you stop and remember the positives.  Yesterday my blessings were having a warm house to watch the falling snow, getting out of bed early enough to take the girls for their blood work  and that my family had a healthy and safe day.  Think about it, it’s there!
  • Help Others-No matter how you help someone else I think it can be such a spirit lifter.  At the same time though, don’t over do it…remember it’s okay to say NO!  Saying NO can be a help to others too.  Especially if your mood while helping them is a drag to everyone you encounter.
  • Quality Time-Spend quality time with people who matter to you.
  • Do Something You Love-Work on something you passionate about, take a road trip, try something new…most of us have something we like to do that brings joy our lives, but for whatever reason we don’t have time or we don’t make time for it.  Commit to find some time whether it be something small or something big.

I’m sure there are many more things I could add to this list, but I think right now this is a good starting point.  I think that the way you look at the little things can effect the big things.  While I know not every minute is going to be spent happy go lucky I also know that we are only given one life here on earth, so why not make it the best it can be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Thursday, January 22, 2009 3:53 am

    What a great post. Thanks for writing it.

    A smile will not only brighten someone else’s day, but you’ll feel better too!

    I am really bad at spreading the anger. 😦 My dh and my kids bear the brunt of it, sadly.

    I’d be surprised if I was ever bored.

    I’m certainly getting better at counting my blessings. We’re in a tough spot and could be tougher if we were all negative and stuff.

    Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

