Skip to content

Embrace Your Inner Cheapskate-Can I Do It?

Monday, October 6, 2008

by Maira Kalman

For those of you who don’t know I’m a magazine junkie.  Give me a book and there is a good chance I will put it down, give me a magazine and I’ll read it cover to cover…strange!

Anywho this month in Real Simple there is an article entitled Embrace Your Inner Cheapskate Briefly it’s about a man who challenges himself to go an entire week without spending a cent.  Here comes the Can I Do It?

Mentally I always consider the fact I would like to be more frugal, that I should save money, not be so impulsive with spending…the list goes on.  This article has inspired me to see if I can do this for an entire week.  So starting mid-day tomorrow (because I need to buy a bag of ice in the morning) I am going to see if I can go an entire week without spending money.  There is food in the house, the milk is fresh, my car is almost completely full of gas.  In other words there is nothing that I need!  Check back through out this week for updates on how it goes.  If you want to join me leave me a comment!

Scroll down to check out my MENU PLAN MONDAY!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. svrmomof6 permalink
    Monday, October 6, 2008 3:26 pm

    Good luck to you!

  2. Tuesday, October 7, 2008 5:00 pm

    Good luck!!

  3. Tuesday, October 7, 2008 9:02 pm

    I do these on occassion. It forces you to take a hard look at things you spend needlesly on. Good luck to you, I may have to give this another go, I have been slipping in this area

Leave a Reply

