Skip to content

Habits and Values

Monday, January 12, 2009

This morning started no different then any other morning around here, accept at some point I took the time to think about life a little.  In my heart life is important to me and I value the my life, God and my family.  But does it show?  I feel like my habits are starting to far out weigh my values.  Kind of embarrassing and disappointing.  To add to the embarrassment I decided to blog about it.  Can you tell I’m feeling a bit defeated?

We first make our habits, and then our habits make us.  – John Dryden

Wow, how true is that.  In order to find some peace for myself I think that God is probably the go to force.  With him anything is possible.   But I also like to learn and absorb knowledge and get ideas of things I can practice in my life.  So I googled Making the Most of this Life.  In doing so I found 24 Daily Habits to Make the Most of this Life. by Peter @ The Change Blog.

The Morning:

1-WAKE EARLY

2-EXERCISE

3-REVIEW/RE-WRITE YOUR GOALS

4-READ OR LISTEN TO MOTIVATIONAL MATERIAL

5-VISUALIZE THE DAY AHEAD

6-WRITE A “TO DO” LIST

7-CHECK THE NEWS HEADLINES

8-TAKE A MULTI-VITAMIN

9-TIDY UP (a cluttered house can lead to a cluttered mind)

10-TAKE TIME TO LOOK GOOD

The Day:

11-FIRST THINGS FIRST (organizing and executing your life around your deepest priorities)

12-CONNECT WITH NATURE

13-BLOG

14-SNACK WELL (substitute the candy and chips with healthy choices)

15-BE PROACTIVE (showing initiative and taking the responsibility to make things happen)

16-PING A FRIEND-(email or text a friend to stay in touch)

17-SAVE (money)

The Evening:

18-HAVE FAMILY TIME

19-FLOSS

20-WIND DOWN (turn off the electronics before bed and allow your mind to relax)

21-REVIEW MY DAY (did i get closer to achieving my goals, did i accomplish my to do list, did my day go as planned)

22-READ

23-SAY I LOVE YOU TO YOUR FAMILY MEMBERS

24-GO TO BED AT A REASONABLE TIME

My opinion on this list…I love it.  I want to print it out and post it to my fridge as a reminder to appreciate life, that life can be so much more and that I need to make the most of it.  I don’t know if it is reasonable to fit each one of these items into each one of my days, but I love the foundation.

What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

